The Robert N. Shaffer Glaucoma Lecture

Since 1980, the American Academy of Ophthalmology has presented a named lecture in honor of pioneering glaucoma specialist Robert N. Shaffer, MD in conjunction with their annual meeting.

The Robert N. Shaffer Glaucoma Lecture commemorates Dr. Shaffer’s many contributions to the field of glaucoma research, education, and patient treatment.

Dr. Shaffer (1912 – 2007) founded the Glaucoma Research Foundation in 1978. He was an early innovator in the field of glaucoma and a Clinical Professor Emeritus in Ophthalmology at University of California San Francisco, where he taught for a half century. His extensive writing on glaucoma includes over 90 articles and books.

Dr. Shaffer established an influential glaucoma fellowship program in San Francisco, and with H. Dunbar Hoskins Jr., MD and John Hetherington, Jr., MD (1930 – 2020), he founded the Glaucoma Research Foundation, which continues his legacy of helping those with glaucoma through education and the funding of research to find better therapies and ultimately a cure for glaucoma.

The mission of the American Academy of Ophthalmology is to advance lifelong learning and professional interests of ophthalmologists to ensure that the public can obtain the best possible eye care. More than 15,000 physicians and health care professionals attend the AAO meeting each year.

Robert N. Shaffer Glaucoma Lectures by Year

2021 – Dake K. Heuer, MD – “Navigating between Scylla and Charybdis: An Evidence-Based Guide to Minimizing Overtreatment and Undertreatment of Patients with Glaucoma”

2020 – David S. Friedman, MD, MPH, PhD – “The Future of Glaucoma Care”

2019 – Jeffrey L. Goldberg, MD, PhD – “The Future of Vision Restoration in Glaucoma”

2018 – Sayoko E. Moroi, MD, PhD – “At the Technological Confluence of Glaucoma Clinical Care and Research”

“I was most honored to be the second woman in 39 years to deliver the Robert N. Shaffer Lecture at the 2018 American Academy of Ophthalmology. I honored my patients, parents, family, and mentors, all of whom have supported my curiosity to make progress to do my best for patients with glaucoma.”

2017 – Janey L. Wiggs, MD, PhD – “Glaucoma Genes and New Opportunities for Therapy”

2016 – George A. Cioffi, MD – “Glaucoma Population Management”

2015 – David S. Greenfield, MD – “Glaucoma at Low Tension: When Normal Isn’t Good Enough”

2014 – Alan L. Robin, MD – “Global Collaborations: Improving Glaucoma Care”

2013 – Joel S. Schuman, MD, FACS – “Glaucoma Changes – Reality Bites”

2012 – Robert L. Stamper, MD – “Today’s Glaucoma Challenges and What You Can Do About Them”

2011 – Murray Johnstone, MD – “Aqueous Outflow Regulation Through Pulsatile Mechanisms: Evidence and Implications”

2010 – Paul P. Lee, MD, JD – “Implementing Changes in Glaucoma Care for Patients and Populations”

2009 – Richard K. Parrish, II, MD – “Glaucoma Drainage Implants: A Practice-Based Learning and Improvement Perspective”

2008 – Wallace L.M. Alward, MD – “The Molecular Genetics of Glaucoma”

2007 – Robert Ritch, MD – “Glaucoma as an Ocular Manifestation of Systemic Disease”

2006 – Michael A. Kass, MD – “A Validated Prediction Model for Managing Ocular Hypertensive Patients”

2005 – Paul F. Palmberg, MD, PhD – “How Much of Glaucoma Damage is Pressure-Dependent?”

2004 – B. Thomas Hutchinson, MD – “Risk Factors in Glaucoma Management”

2003 – Don Minckler, MD – “Gold Standard Glaucoma Surgical Therapy” (Integrating ethics, innovation, and evidence-based medicine)

2002 – Paul L. Kaufman, MD – “Medical Therapy of Glaucoma: Where Are We Going, When Will We Get There?”

2001 – Robert N. Weinreb, MD – “Reflection from the Nerve Fiber Layer in Glaucoma”

2000 – Roger Hitchings, MD – “Glaucoma Management: What is the Outcome of Our Treatment”

1999 – Paul R. Lichter, MD – “”

1998 – Steven M. Podos, MD – “Neuroprotection and the Nerve of Glaucoma!”

1997 – Richard F. Brubaker, MD – “Decisions, Decisions”

*1996 – E. Michael Van Buskirk, MD – “The Evolution of Glaucoma”

1995 – David L. Epstein, MD – “The Glaucomas – Lessons for a Clinician Scientist”

1994 – H. Dunbar Hoskins, Jr., MD – “Glaucoma: Are We Winning or Losing?”

1993 – M. Bruce Shields, MD – “A Lesson from the Study of Secondary Glaucomas”

1992 – Lorenz E. Zimmerman, MD – “Glaucoma and Unilateral Iris Melanocytitic Lesions”

1991 – Harry A. Quigley, MD – “How to Improve Glaucoma Management”

1990 – George L. Spaeth, MD – “Glaucoma – A Disease Paradigm”

1989 – Irvin Pollack, MD – “Unusual Problems in the Diagnosis and Management of Angle-Closure Glaucoma”

1988 – Richard Simmons, MD – “Glaucoma Surgery – My View after 25 Years”

1987 – Douglas R. Anderson, MD – “Automated Visual Fields – Practical Considerations”

1986 – Allan E. Kolker, MD – “The Decade of the Laser”

1985 – John Hetherington, Jr., MD – “Unilateral Glaucoma”

1984 – Stephen M. Drance, MD – “The Early Signs of Damage in Chronic Open-Angle Glaucoma”

1983 – H. Saul Sugar, MD – “Pigmentary Glaucoma, Exfoliation-Pseudoexfoliation Syndrome Update”

1982 – A. Edward Maumenee, MD – “Causes for Optic Nerve Damage in Glaucoma”

1981 – Morton W. Grant, MD – “Why Do Some People Go Blind from Glaucoma”

1980 – Bernard Becker, MD – “Glaucoma”


First posted on September 30, 2015; Last reviewed and updated on June 15, 2022. Pictured above: Andrew G. Iwach, MD, Board Chair of the Glaucoma Research Foundation, with 2021 Shaffer Lecturer Dake K. Heuer, MD.